Young Sculptors Competition

The Competition

Year 2013:  Representational Sculpture only.
Young sculptors, U.S. residents, ages 25 to 35 as of competition entry are invited to participate in a competition, held every other year for the 2013 William and Dorothy Yeck $10,000 Purchase Award. Entrants should have achieved a significant degree of success as an emerging artist of noteworthy talent. The winner will become part of the Miami University Best Young Sculptors of the Twenty-First Century Collection.

Juror: 2013: John Hatfield, Executive Director, Socrates Sculpture Park, Long Island City, New York

Notification: Finalists will be notified in late June. Images of the finalists' works will be retained by Miami University. The $10,000 Purchase Award winner may be invited to visit the University in parallel to the 2015 competition/exhibition. Participation in the exhibition entry process constitutes an understanding and acceptance of the conditions set forth herein, including the right of Miami University to use submitted images for publicity and educational purposes.

All finalists will assume the cost of shipment of artworks to Miami University. Miami University will assume the cost of return shipping of the finalists’ sculptures. Works will be fully insured while on the premises of Miami University and while being returned to the artist.

Questions and Entry Form

E-mail:, Phone 513.529.1883
 Fax 513.529.1992

Send to:

Young Sculptors 2013 Department of Art400 S. Patterson AveRoom 124Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056-2486  E-mail

Phone 513.529.1883

Fax 513.529.1992

Send to:

Young Sculptors 2013
Department of Art
400 S. Patterson Ave., 124 Art
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056

10,000 William and Dorothy Yeck Purchase Award

Carrie Longley Brookville Ohio(Gracillus Dudas, 2009)  
$1,500 Second Place
Taylor BaldwinRichmond, Virginia
(I Ain't Afraid of No Ghosts, 2009) 

 $1,000 Third Place
Josh JohnsonMinneapolis, Minnesota(Understudy, 2010)                               

   2011 Finalists: Taylor Baldwin (Richmond, VA)Venetia Dale (Milwaukee, WI)Claire Hedden (Normal, IL)Josh Johnson (Minneapolis, MN)Carrie Longley (Brookville, OH)Andrea Myers (Columbus, OH)Maxwell Stolkin (Mooresville, IN)Troy Stanley (Houston, TX)Valeria Yamamoto (Miami Beach, FL)Jason Tanner Young (Lincoln, NE)

© 2015 Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809
Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement | Accessibility problems? Contact